Dr. C. Michael Walton

Ernest H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering, University of Texas

dr-michael-walton Dr. C. Michael Walton is Professor of Civil Engineering and holds the Ernest H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin (UT). In addition, he holds a joint academic appointment in the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs. For more than 40 years he has pursued a career in transport systems engineering and policy analysis.

Dr. Walton is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. He is a past chair and member of the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Executive Committee. As the National Research Council (NRC) chair of the TRB Division he serves as an ex-officio member of the Governing Board of the NRC. Recently he was appointed by the Governor of Texas and elected chair of the “2030 Committee.” The “blue ribbon” committee, comprised of experts in business and transportation, was found to develop a comprehensive estimate of Texas transportation needs through the year 2030. In other professional society affairs he is a past chairman of the board of the American Road and Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA). In addition, he is a founding member of the Intelligent Transportation Society (ITS) of America and a past chair of the Board of Directors. He has served on or chaired a number of national study panels including those mandated by Congress and others of the National Research Council. He is President of the Board of Governors of the Transportation and Development Institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) and a member of many other technical/professional organizations such as the Institute of Transportation Engineers.

Posted in ETS@austin Speakers